Hi all!

At the Grand Canyon

At the Grand Canyon

So here it is, my very first blog. Honestly, I had, and still have, no idea what is meant to go in a blog, so I thought i’d just start writing whatever it is that pops into my mind.

My name is Rachel and I’m from the good old Shire. Born here, grew up here and don’t plan on moving anytime soon. The typical thoughts of non-Shire people, to me, believe that we are all like this. I speak for myself when I say we are, why would anyone want to leave this beautiful place on Earth?

I am currently in my second year out of high school. I deferred my degree to take a gap year and travel for a bit last year in which went to America for 3 months and worked as a lifeguard at a summer camp in Massachusetts. It was the best decision as I wasn’t 100% sure on what it was that I wanted to do. I made great friends with girls all over the world, including Ireland, Iceland, Germany, Turkey, Sweden, England, New Zealand and of course the USA. Funnily enough I found the Irish accent the hardest to understand. With all these nationalities, there were more than our fair share of miscomminications haha.

I also travelled for 3 weeks with a few girls I met at camp. We visited New York, Washington DC, Las Vegas, San Francisco and Los Angeles. New York was absolutely incredible and so over-whelming with it’s bright lights, tall buildings and so many people! San Fran was the biggest shock, it was not what I was expecting at all. It was cold and cloudy but so beautiful.

View of Empire State Building and Times Square

View of Empire State Building and Times Square


I am a procrastinator, but I like to believe I am a very organised person. 99% of the replies I give to my mother when she asks me to do something is likely to be “In a minute”, or “Yes mum, I’ll do it later”. But I definately don’t think I’m the only teenager these days who doesn’t say those words on a daily basis.

Although, I am at uni now and can not afford to keep these habits up. I am studying Communications and Media, majoring in advertising and marketing and possibly journalism too, and by the end of my degree I wish to play a role in the advertising and marketing of major brands and companies. I’m aiming high, if I don’t, or all uni students as a group don’t, then there is no way we will reach the top and become the best person we can be.

So there we have my very first blog post introducing myself, with many more to come.

About hereinaminute

I'm a fun loving beach dweller that will talk about anything and everything. I try to take the easy going, non-serious approach to most things, but when I want something, watch out!!
Image | This entry was posted in BCM110, BCM112 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hi all!

  1. Perfect intro post. Blogging gets easier once you start šŸ™‚
    Looking forward to reading your blog and discussing BCM112 in our tutes.
    -Kath

  2. hlte981 says:

    Awesome first post. A little bit of history and a little bit of the future. The gap year was a great idea, travel always broadens the mind and also the range of friends you can make. In regards to saying “in a minute”, I’m 21 and still say it to my folks, but that is bound to stop when you move out. Also I’m assuming your question about The Shire was a rhetorical one, but if not, that place does have a lovely beach and expensive restaurants.

Leave a Reply

